Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day to all the daddies out there.  I hope everyone is having a nice day with their families, etc.  I have a super Dad, so I thought I’d make today’s post about him.

I was blessed by God with two really wonderful parents.  My Dad is the hardest working person I’ve ever met in my entire life.  He’s been retired a couple of years now, and he’s even the hardest working “retired” person I’ve ever met.

I’m not going to say my father & I have never butted heads.  Of course we have, especially when I was younger.  But mostly because we are both so hard-headed and stubborn.  This apple didn’t fall far from the tree.    😉

My Daddy taught me how to tie my shoes, how to drive, how to fish, how to grow a garden, and loads of other things.   But mostly he just took good care of us, and he still does.  My parents are the best grandparents ever.  I knew they would be wonderful grandparents, but it’s really wonderful to be able to see it in action.  My kids are so very close to them.  I am grateful everyday that my children are able to grow up living next door to their grandparents, just like I did as a kid.

One of the perks of Dad being retired is that I actually get to see him a lot more now.  🙂   When I was a kid he was always working so much to take care of us that he was often at work, or asleep when I was awake.  So our time together was somewhat limited by that.

This is one of my favorite pictures of Dad & I.  Neither of us are really looking our best in it.  LOL!  But it is the memory that goes along with the picture that makes it so special to me.  Each year my mom’s entire family would pile in at my other Grandparent’s house and have a Christmas get together.  Sometimes my Dad or my uncles would miss these occasionally, due to their complex work/sleep schedules.  But the family always tried to choose a day when the most people could be there.  The timing of this particular Christmas get together didn’t land well for my dad’s schedule.  Dad would be driving his tractor-trailer all night long the night before and into the morning.  So I was told we would be going without him.  I was really disappointed.  I wanted them there.  I told Mom that, but she (wisely) told me that Dad would need to rest, not be driving more.  But I (in my little kid ignorance) caught my Dad off to the side and asked him, “Daddy could you please make it to Christmas at Grams?  Pretty Please.”  I think he said something about not knowing what the roads would be like or if he’d even be back in time.  But I told him how much I wanted him to be there and that afternoon Dad rolled in.  He had made it home in time, changed clothes, and came straight to Gram’s.  He looked like a walking zombie, he was so tired.  But he made it, and he sat by me the whole time.  Just like I wanted him too.

It’s funny the things that stick out in your mind the most from your childhood.  It’s not the gifts.  I know we received lots of presents out there.  But I can’t remember a single present I got that year.  People these days seem to worry a great deal about their kids having the latest gadgets etc.  But that’s not what they will remember most.

I don’t remember any of my presents that year.  But I do remember how hard my Daddy worked, and the effort he made to be there and stay awake all day – just for me.    🙂


Ok to be fair, I do remember getting the cookie monster house shoes that year.  Only because they are in the photo.  LOL!  What’s funny about that, is that we didn’t have cable TV and I didn’t have the foggiest idea what Sesame Street was, but I liked the shoes.   Blue was always my favorite color.     🙂

Leave a Reply

