Music Snobs

What is it with some people that they cannot like a band/artist that sells more than x number of records?  You know the type, their MySpace/Facebook pages contain listings of 100 bands most people have never heard of and not a single one that is “popular”.  They always know oh so very much about the most obscure bands and are waiting with bated breath to say to someone “Oh my God, they like Nickelback?  The worst band EVER.”

(Please don’t turn this into a comment string of arguments about the pros and cons of Nickelback.  I just threw that name out there because it’s a commonly insulted band.)

Or, “I can’t believe they still listen to Green Day.  They are such sell outs!”

Ok seriously people – your worth as a person is not valued based on your musical tastes.   You should have learned that early on, and if not, you should have learned that by at least…. junior high.  For real.

I’m not going to get into the issue of really disgusting vile lyrics and whatnot, because that is not what this post is about. But when it comes to average music, it makes no difference to me what someone likes.  I mean you are not a better person just because you like 10 obscure bands as opposed to a few popular ones.

Why can’t people just like what they like and not inject all sorts of musical snobbery.  Because at the end of the day it’s just a song.  And some people like it and some people don’t.  That doesn’t make anyone any better than anyone else.

My grandfather was a rather well-known fiddle maker.  I spent many an afternoon listening to the fiddle, the guitar, the dulcimer, the mandolin, the banjo, etc.  In church I heard church songs.  At home I heard mostly country music.  On my own radio I played mostly rock music.  My mother plays the piano.  Most of my mother’s family plays some sort of instrument and/or sings.  My cousin is a country artist, another cousin is a well-known fiddle player and judge.  I grew up singing in the church and in school.  I can play the clarinet, and a I can play a little of the fiddle, guitar, Irish tin whistle, etc.  If I had to choose a favorite musical artist it would probably have to be Eric Clapton.  But I hate choosing favorites. My musical tastes are all over the place.  I don’t care what “genre” a song or artist is supposed to be in.  I don’t really think most music fits in such pretty little boxes anyway – especially these days.  If I like a song I like it.  I don’t care if it is one of the most popular bands in history or a completely unheard of artist.

I don’t see why people can’t just be honest and like what they like. It amazes me that full-grown adults worry so much about what someone else will think of their musical tastes.

Have the backbone to like what you like, and not be ashamed to say it.

In short:  Don’t be a music snob.

4 Responses to “Music Snobs”

  1. onepillawayfromchaos Says:

    This is right on the money. I dated a musical snob. He thought it made him appear intelligent. It was as dumb as a box of rocks! Dumped him and moved on.

    Thanks for the honest post!

  2. Debbie Says:

    You’re welcome! Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  3. mct88 Says:

    love eric clapton! esp singing his songs on karaoke 🙂

  4. Debbie Says:

    I’ve never done karaoke, but I love Clapton. Over the years I named several pets after his songs. LOL 🙂
    Thanks for the comment!


Leave a Reply

