Go stick your hands in some warm dish water!

I’ve been battling a severe iron deficiency for quite a while now.  One of the many annoying side effects of this is that I have become very cold natured.  (Emphasis on the very.)   The weather has turned colder and I am freeeeeezing today.  Everyone else in the house is of course, fine.

Have you ever had one of those moments that made you think of something from your past? Not the big stuff.  We all get reminders of the big stuff.  But just little things?

Today I had one of those, while shivering in the kitchen thinking about how cold I was.  I remembered when I was a kid and my maternal Grandmother was one of the most hot-natured people I’ve ever met.  My Grandpa was on the total opposite side of the spectrum.  On more than one 70 to 80 degree day he was known to turn the heat on in his truck.

But Grandpa was frequently cold inside the house.  He and Gram never agreed on temperature.  And Gram slaving away in a hot kitchen, didn’t help the issue much.  My Grandma LOVED to feed people. She didn’t just cook a meal, she made feasts.  As my uncle often put it, “She makes enough to feed an Army!”

Every Sunday after church we went to their house for dinner.  And nearly every Sunday my Grandpa complained about being cold.  He’d wear a jacket inside the house, and stand in front of one of their gas stoves, warming his back.  And every time he complained about being cold, Gram would always have the same response.

“Well if you’re so cold, go stick your hands in some warm dish water!”, then she’d tilt her head sideways and give him a playful grin.

🙂

And often he’d go do the dishes.

So today I’m following Gram’s advice.  I’m cold, and I’m going to stick my hands in some warm dish water!

2 Responses to “Go stick your hands in some warm dish water!”

  1. thypolarlife Says:

    What a cute story! With my thyroid swinging from one way to the other I often go from sweating to death to freezing in nothing flat. I tend to play with our thermostat often and sometimes the kids or the hubby will complain. I’ll have to use that line to get some help in the kitchen 🙂

  2. Debbie Says:

    Thanks! And I understand what you mean about swinging back and forth from hot to cold. When I had Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis and it was in the “attack” phase, that is how I was.
    And yeah, you should use the line. 😉 I can still picture my sassy Gram saying it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

