The List of Things I Like and Don’t Like

Leave it to my kids to find a way to make me smile, even on a crummy day.

Or in this case, almost make me choke with laughter.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.  Let me set the scene.

My son is sitting at the kitchen table, and I am doing some things in the kitchen and he is rambling 100 mph and I’m catching bits and pieces of what he is saying.  When suddenly I realize that what I just heard didn’t make any sense.

I knew he was telling me about a list that he had came up with, but the things I was hearing seemed unrelated.  So I was confused.  I said, “This is a list of what?”   He said, “A list of things I like and don’t like.”  I said, “Oh”, still a little confused by the concept.   So I asked him to repeat it.

This is what he said:

The List of Things I Like and Don’t Like

(as said by my 7 year old son)

1. Star Wars

2.  Dinosaurs

3.  Indiana Jones

4.  Science

5.  Hello Kitty -” And that’s where things start to go bad,” he said in a menacing tone.

6.  Princesses

7.  Fairies

8.  The Devil.

At this point my husband is listening as well and he says, “The devil, eh?”
And in a tone that says duh you should know this Dad, our son replies, “Well then it goes to the Devil because the devil is bad too you know.”
My husband says, “Yes, the devil is bad.”
Our son says “Well, there’s lots of bad things, but the devil is the baddest.”

“After Fairies and Princesses?”  my husband says.

“Of course.”  replies our son.

“But right after fairies and princesses, there’s nothing in-between fairies and the devil?”  my husband asks.

“Well of course DAD, but it’s not a list of everything in the world.  Duh.”

LOL   🙂

 

4 Responses to “The List of Things I Like and Don’t Like”

  1. dogkisses Says:

    Awesome post!!! 🙂

  2. thypolarlife Says:

    Hilarious. My youngest comes up with all kinds of craziness too. It’s entertaining just to hear their logic. Kids do say the darnedest things. Mine always have a way of making me smile, even when I don’t want to.


Leave a Reply

