November 11th

I know what Nov. 11th is.  It is Veteran’s Day.  And nothing I’m about to say should be taken as a slight to our veterans.  The majority of the men in my family (including my husband, father, grandfathers, etc.) are veterans.  I have a tremendous amount of respect for those that serve our country.  I think of them and their sacrifices on a daily basis.  I teach my children to appreciate what those in uniform do and have done, to give them the life that they lead today.

But to me, November 11th will always be “Grandma’s Birthday”.   One of my grandmothers was born on November 11th. She was a very playful grandma and child-like in some ways.  When my first cousins and I were very small she would tell us with a sly smile that school wasn’t in session on Nov. 11th, because it was “Grandma’s Birthday”.  🙂

My Grandma is in Heaven now.  But no matter how old I get, when I hear “November 11th” my mind goes to the woman that kept us many weekends, let us run a muck, bought all our favorite foods, took us around and taught us about trees, flowers and birds, fed us grapes from her carefully kept grapevines – popping them in our little open mouths while she called us “her baby birds”.

It’s 2 o’clock in the morning and Nov. 11th is technically over for this year, but she’s been on my mind all day.  Like all the other November elevenths before today.  Oh what I wouldn’t give to have one more weekend with her and PawPaw. One more Friday night staying up late with my cousins, trying to be just quiet enough to not wake anyone.  One more fun filled Saturday that started with my PawPaw loudly playing his fiddle at the crack of dawn and my Gram clanging pots and pans in the kitchen.  One more Saturday to play all day.  One more Sunday morning together, listening to my Grandma sing and complain about how hot the church was.  One more Sunday dinner with my family all around.  One more game of UNO or dominos after dinner.  One more chance to hug her goodbye & tell her I’d see her next weekend.

I can’t have any of those things again.  But I thank God for the blessings in my life and the wonderful people I have been able to call family.

Yep, Nov. 11th will always be Grandma’s Birthday.

I love you and miss you dearly, Gram.

 

Leave a Reply

