How I spent my Thanksgiving – Part 1

This post ran long, so I turned it into two posts.  Part Two will be posted tomorrow.

My Thanksgiving didn’t go exactly like I might have planned.  Of course things typically don’t.  LOL   I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  Here’s how mine went….

I was supposed to be spending the day wearing a heart monitor.  The scheduling for that fell through, so that ended up not happening.

At the start of the day I woke up, everyone else was still sleeping peacefully and I was tired.  So I thought, what the heck, I’m going back to bed.  🙂

The next time I woke up I could barely move.  I was stiff all over and extremely so, in my hands and feet.  It was clearly going to be a slow-to-rise sort of day.  How I managed to get that stiff in the short period of time since I was up before (maybe an hour?), I have no idea.

My husband gave me the TV remote and said, “Here sit tight for a while till you can move around better.”  We don’t have cable, but we do watch DVDs and get a small handful of free channels.  When my husband tossed me the remote the channel had landed on a big famous dog show.  I doubted there was anything else on I wanted to see, so I didn’t bother to go through the pain of picking it up and trying to push buttons.  Which would have been hard at that moment.

I love dogs, but I’m not particularly a fan of dog shows.  I am most happy when the dogs do something totally unpredictable and lovably dog-like.  My personal favorite event of such a type, was when a dog stopped mid-rounds and took a big poop during it’s showing at Westminster.

So I watched, hoping for another big poop.  Or something fun of the sort.  (Yes this is the life of excitement that I lead.)

While waiting, hopeful for another big poop, I played my favorite TV dog show game.  A silly little game that I created.  “What?” you ask.  You created a game to be played during dog shows?  Why yes.  Yes I did.  It’s called, Name That Dog Breed.

In Name That Dog Breed, the purpose of the game is to look at each dog and guess what the animal shelter would write on its tag, were it to end up there.  I know, that might sound a little morbid, but trust me I don’t mean it in a morbid way at all.  I just get a kick out of the ridiculous way that animal shelters guess breeds.  I think they only know about 5 to 10 breeds and everything they see is either one of those or a mix of some of those.

Here’s how it works.  You, and whomever you are watching with, guess what the animal shelter would name each breed as the breed’s chosen representative makes its rounds.  Whomever comes up with the best guess, wins.

I’ll give you an example:

The Icelandic Sheepdog

=

husky/shepherd mix.

🙂

What can I say, I’m easily amused.  So I did that for a while.  And around the time my joints and muscles started to loosen up a bit, I started getting fidgety and got up.  Later I saw the kids and my husband off to go have Thanksgiving dinner with my parents.  I wasn’t able to go.  But I hear that they all had a lovely time and stuffed themselves on my mother’s delicious cooking.  And from what I hear, our baby (now 16 months old) had a great time after her meal, filling her tummy on my Mother’s homemade blueberry pie.  Which was a first for her.
Apparently she thought it was THE greatest food ever.  🙂

While they were gone I experienced a rare event in my life…..

Tomorrow I will post Part 2 of this riveting post. 😉

One Response to “How I spent my Thanksgiving – Part 1”

  1. thypolarlife Says:

    Ooh. Can’t wait. As for the dog show game…….We do that too LOL! I have found that since my life is so chaotic, it’s the simplest of things that seem to amuse me. Sorry you haven’t been feeling well. That is how I woke up on Saturday. Looking forward to your next post.


Leave a Reply

